On-line Opinion Magazine…OK, it's a blog
Random header image... Refresh for more!

Tropical Storm Beryl – Day 3

Tropical Storm BerylPosition: 30.2N 81.1W [10PM CDT 0300 UTC].
Movement: West [270°] near 7 mph [11 kph].
Maximum sustained winds: 70 mph [110 kph].
Wind Gusts: 85 mph [135 kph].
Tropical Storm Wind Radius: 115 miles [185 km].
Minimum central pressure: 993 mb ↑.

Currently about 35 miles [ 60 km] East of Jacksonville, Florida.

A Tropical Storm Warning is in effect for the coast from the Volusia-Brevard County line in Florida northward to Edisto Beach, South Carolina.

Beryl still has its sights set on the Florida coast between Jacksonville and St Augustine late tonight or early tomorrow morning. Beryl has managed to become a tropical storm which will increase rainfall amounts. There is a chance it might become a minimal hurricane prior to landfall. Tropical storm-force winds are already impacting Duval and St Johns counties, Florida.

The Jacksonville radar at 10PM CDT shows the storm’s center just off the coast with the outer bands stretching from Daytona Beach, Florida North to Savannah, Georgia. The outer bands are where most of the tornado activity associated with tropical storms are located.

UPDATE: At 11:10PM CDT [0410 UTC] radar showed that Beryl had come ashore in Jacksonville Beach, Florida.

Here’s the link for NOAA’s latest satellite images.

[For the latest information click on the storm symbol, or go to the CATEGORIES drop-down box below the CALENDAR and select “Hurricanes” for all of the posts related to storms on this site.]