On-line Opinion Magazine…OK, it's a blog
Random header image... Refresh for more!

Noel Update

Post-Tropical Storm Noel [Canadian Hurricane Centre]

Position: 42.0 N 67.6 W. [10PM CDT]
Movement: North-Northeast near 38 mph.
Maximum sustained winds: 86 mph.
Wind Gusts: 95 mph.
Minimum central pressure: 967 mb.

PTS Noel is about 159 miles South-Southwest of Yarmouth, Nova Scotia.

Based on the measured seas to the northwest of the storm centre we now believe that the seas in the eastern quadrant of the storm are well above 12 metres [40 feet]. We are warning that these energetic waves will create dangerous pounding surf conditions along the Atlantic Coast of Nova Scotia tonight and Sunday morning and we advise people to exercise extreme caution near these shores. Media reports have alerted us to a high level of interest in these waves by the public and we advise against anyone testing these waters or even going near the shore.

Lightning is being reported in southwestern Maritime waters with a cold front that is associated with the storm. Squally winds are likely with this front as it moves eastward through southern Maritime waters.

Peak storm values so far…
Rain… 42 mm [1.65 inches] at Baccaro Point, NS to 5PM ADT [3PM CDT]
Wind… 91 km/h [57 mph] at Baccaro Point, NS at 2PM ADT [Noon CDT]

[The formatting was driving me to distraction.]