On-line Opinion Magazine…OK, it's a blog
Random header image... Refresh for more!

YQ 300 2013 – Day 2

The YQ 300 field is in or beyond Braeburn and has fallen to 16 teams. Kyia Bouchard (67) made the decision to scratch after reaching Braeburn

Standings as of 10PM CST:

At Carmacks
1 Michelle Phillips (58)
2 Aliy Zirkle (56)
Beyond Braeburn
3 Jerry Joinson (55)
4 Paige Drobny (65)
5 Marcelle Fressineau (54)
6 John King (57)
7 Gaetan Pierrard (60)
8 Yuka Honda (53)
9 Tamra Reynolds (51)
10 Olaf Thurau (59)
11 Jonathan Lucas (62)
12 Jennifer Levy (63)
13 Ryne Olson (65)
14 Colin Morrison (52)
15 Debbie Knight (61)
16 Lucy Tyrrell (68)

February 3, 2013   Comments Off on YQ 300 2013 – Day 2

Yukon Quest 2013 – Day 2

Yukon Quest map odd years

Sled DogAllen Moore was the first team into Braeburn, followed by Lance Mackey. Hugh, Susan, and Brent decided to take their mandatory 4-hour stop at Carmacks and blew through, putting them in the lead temporarily.

The numbers for Lance aren’t adding up. To fulfill the requirements for the mandatory stop, he should have been at Braeburn for 5 hours, the 4-hour stop plus the 60 minute start differential, but he was only there for 4 hours and 25 minutes. Either he is pulling a head fake on the field and will make a 5 hour stop at Carmacks, or the numbers were entered wrong. [Update: Lance is playing with Allen Moore’s head and will take the stop at Carmacks.]

Note that after Carmacks the standings are the overall standings in the race. At the moment Allen Moore has a small lead when you adjust for the start time advantage. After Carmacks the start time is equalized and the positions are real.

The Standings at 11PM CST (9PM PST):

Beyond Carmacks
1 Hugh Neff (4)
2 Allen Moore (11)
3 Jake Berkowitz (20)
4 Scott Smith (23)R
5 Brent Sass (18)
At Carmacks
6 David Dalton (21)
7 Susan Rogan (10)R
8 Lance Mackey (6)
9 Normand Casavant (7)
10 Abbie West (17)
Beyond Braeburn
11 Kelley Griffin (8)
12 Cody Strathe (5)R
13 Markus Ingebretsen (2)R
14 Crispin Studer (26)
15 Dan Kaduce (15)
16 Denis Tremblay (13)R
17 Ed Hopkins (25)
18 Matthew Failor (14)R
19 Darrin Lee (24)R
20 Brian Wilmshurst (1)
21 Rob Cooke (3)R
22 Misha Pedersen (16)
23 Ed Abrahamson (22)
24 Christina Traverse (12)R
25 Randy MacKenzie (9)R
26 Dyan Bergen (19)R

These are the official standings. That means they are official, not that they are correct. Things jump around a lot as people decide to update the standings. This problem is especially bad in the back of the pack, as no one bothers to update those standings when the lead is changing.

The Mushers in bold are former winners of the Yukon Quest, the numbers in parentheses are their Bib numbers, and the small “R” indicates a rookie.

Note: This post will be updated during the day, and the map changed on all posts to reflect the current situation.

All posts on the Yukon Quest can be seen by selecting “Yukon Quest” from the Category box on the right sidebar.

February 3, 2013   Comments Off on Yukon Quest 2013 – Day 2