On-line Opinion Magazine…OK, it's a blog
Random header image... Refresh for more!

YQ 300 2013 – Day 4

Michelle won the sprint by 8 seconds to win the 2013 Yukon Quest 300 last night at 10:20:02PM PST. She and Aliy have been minutes apart, swapping the lead since Carmacks, but Michelle obviously timed her final sprint correctly.

Update: Debbie Knight (61) has scratched at the McCabe Creek Dog Drop.

Update: Lucy Tyrrell (68) followed Debbie’s example and also scratched at McCabe Creek.

The Standings as of 11PM CST:

1 Michelle Phillips (58)
2 Aliy Zirkle (56)
3 Jerry Joinson (55)
4 Olaf Thurau (59)
5 Yuka Honda (53)
6 Marcelle Fressineau (54)
7 Tamra Reynolds (51)
Beyond Pelly Crossing
8 Jonathan Lucas (62)
9 Gaetan Pierrard (60)
10 John King (57)
11 Ryne Olson (65)
12 Colin Morrison (52)
13 Jennifer Levy (63)

February 5, 2013   Comments Off on YQ 300 2013 – Day 4

Yukon Quest 2013 – Day 4

Yukon Quest map odd years

Sled DogAllen passed Hugh at the Scoggie Creek Dog Drop to take the lead. Unfortunately his GPS unit is down so the Live Tracking isn’t working at the moment.

Ed Abrahamson (22) become the first team to scratch at Carmacks. He wasn’t making any time and the trail conditions aren’t what you want for a come back. There is a lot of speculation that Lance may scratch at Dawson because he has had to drop 5 dogs already, and he isn’t happy with the condition of his team. He has been rebuilding as the teams that won multiple Quests and Iditarods have retired from competition.

Standings at 11PM CST:

At Dawson
1 Hugh Neff (4)
2 Allen Moore (11)
3 Jake Berkowitz (20)
Beyond Pelly Crossing
4 Kelley Griffin (8)
5 Brent Sass (18)
6 Susan Rogan (10)R
7 Abbie West (17)
8 Normand Casavant (7)
9 Markus Ingebretsen (2)R
10 David Dalton (21)
11 Ed Hopkins (25)
12 Dan Kaduce (15)
13 Crispin Studer (26)
14 Cody Strathe (5)R
15 Scott Smith (23)R
16 Lance Mackey (6)
17 Denis Tremblay (13)R
18 Brian Wilmshurst (1)
19 Darrin Lee (24)R
20 Matthew Failor (14)R
21 Rob Cooke (3)R
22 Misha Pedersen (16)
23 Dyan Bergen (19)R
24 Randy MacKenzie (9)R
25 Christina Traverse (12)R

These are the official standings. That means they are official, not that they are correct. Things jump around a lot as people decide to update the standings. This problem is especially bad in the back of the pack, as no one bothers to update those standings when the lead is changing.

The Mushers in bold are former winners of the Yukon Quest, the numbers in parentheses are their Bib numbers, and the small “R” indicates a rookie.

Note: This post will be updated during the day, and the map changed on all posts to reflect the current situation.

All posts on the Yukon Quest can be seen by selecting “Yukon Quest” from the Category box on the right sidebar.

February 5, 2013   2 Comments