On-line Opinion Magazine…OK, it's a blog
Random header image... Refresh for more!

Iditarod 2017 – Day 6

Iditarod 2017 MapSled DogMark Selland (23) is the third team to scratch. He left Ruby and then returned to scratch. He was down to 13 puppies and saw something off so he scratched.

With temperatures going above zero, teams are adjusting schedules to rest during ‘the heat of the day’.

Alaska Dispatch notes the death of a second dog:

A 2-year-old dog from Iditarod veteran Scott Smith’s team died while in transit from the Galena checkpoint late Friday, after the musher dropped the dog earlier in the race, said a statement Saturday morning from Mark Nordman, race marshal.

Smith had dropped the male dog named Smoke on Tuesday at the Manley Hot Springs checkpoint, due to a wrist injury, according to the Iditarod Trail Committee. Smoke died while being transported by plane from Galena to Anchorage and was in a travel kennel onboard the flight.

Standings at 10:00PM CST:

Beyond Nulato
1 Mitch Seavey (16)
2 Wade Marrs (29)
3 Dallas Seavey (18)
At Koyukuk
4 Joar Leifseth Ulsom (38)
5 Nicolas Petit (24)
6 Jessie Royer (37)
Beyond Huslia
7 Peter Kaiser (25)
8 Richie Diehl (21)
9 Ray Redington Jr (14)
10 Aliy Zirkle (41)
11 Paul Gebhardt (57)
12 Cody Strathe (5)
13 Ken Anderson (59)
14 Rick Casillo (27)
15 Robert Redington (70)R
16 Jason Mackey (64)
17 Michelle Phillips (9)
18 Martin Buser (15)
19 Ralph Johannessen (39)
20 John Baker (65)
21 Lars Monsen (45)
22 Scott Smith (69)
23 Mats Pettersson (33)
24 Ketil Reitan (11)
25 Jeff King (34)
26 Sebastien Vergnaud (13)R
27 Ryan Redington (2)
28 Noah Burmeister (63)
29 Katherine Keith (52)
30 Hugh Neff (50)

31 Hans Gatt (32)
32 Nathan Schroeder (62)
33 Linwood Fiedler (6)
34 Ramey Smyth (44)
35 Dave Branholm (60)
36 Anna Berington (66)
37 Kristy Berington (73)
38 Jodi Bailey (28)
39 Melissa Stewart (56)
At Huslia
40 Nicolas Vanier (26)R
41 Zoya DeNure (42)
42 Allen Moore (36)
43 Seth Barnes (51)
44 Karin Hendrickson (20)
45 DeeDee Jonrowe (22)
46 Charley Bejna (46)
47 Gunnar Johnson (19)
48 Justin High (48)R
49 Laura Neese (7)Q
Beyond Galena
50 Monica Zappa (58)
51 Thomas Rosenbloom (40)R
52 Geir Idar Hjelvik (54)
53 Paul Hansen (47)R
54 Trent Herbst (67)
55 Larry Daugherty (71)
56 Alan Eischens (35)
57 Kristin Bacon (17)
58 Joe Carson (12)R
59 Dave Delcourt (72)R
60 Misha Wiljes (4)R
61 Justin Stielstra (49)R
62 Peter Reuter (53)R
63 Matthew Failor (55)
64 Michael Baker (61)R
At Galena
65 Jimmy Lebling (43)R
66 Cindy Abbott (31)
67 Roger Lee (10)R
68 Ellen Halverson (30)
69 Ryan Anderson (8)R

The Mushers in bold are former winners of the Iditarod, while italics indicates Yukon Quest winners. The numbers in parentheses are their Bib numbers. The small “R” indicates a total rookie, while the small “Q” indicates an Iditarod rookie who has completed a Yukon Quest.

These are the official standings. That means they are official, not that they are correct. Things jump around a lot as people decide to update the standings. This problem is especially bad in the back of the pack, as no one bothers to update those standings when the lead is changing.

This post will be updated during the day, and the map changed on all posts to reflect the current situation.

All posts on the Iditarod can be seen by selecting “Iditarod” from the Category box on the right sidebar or clicking on the Sled Dog graphic.


There are no comments yet...

Kick things off by filling out the form below.

Leave a Comment

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>