On-line Opinion Magazine…OK, it's a blog
Random header image... Refresh for more!

Iditarod 2018 – Day 7

Iditarod 2018 MapSled DogNicolas has a five hour lead out of Grayling while Mitch and Joar are less than 15 minutes apart.

Because the weather prevented aircraft from landing there the ITC has removed Eagle Island as a checkpoint. It is now a dog drop, but there are no supply drop bags, so Grayling to Kaltag is now the longest run. I guess dropping the supplies at Grayling and ferrying them to Eagle Island was too complicated for the ITC.

Robert Redington scratched at Shageluk “for the good of his team”. He was down to 11 puppies after dropping one at Iditarod. His team may have been suffering from the relatively high temperatures [for sled dogs] in the upper 20s.

Standings at 9:30PM CST:

Beyond Grayling
1 Nicolas Petit (46)
2 Mitch Seavey (13)
3 Joar Leifseth Ulsom (33)
4 Ray Redington Jr (17)
5 Peter Kaiser (30)
6 Richie Diehl (29)
7 Aaron Burmeister (64)
8 Travis Beals (60)
9 Wade Marrs (11)
10 Jessie Royer (36)

11 Aliy Zirkle (31)
12 Ramey Smyth (21)
13 Matt Hall (15)Q
14 Hugh Neff (68)
15 Matthew Failor (55)
16 Linwood Fiedler (8)
17 Ketil Reitan (54)
18 Mats Pettersson (3)
19 Kelly Maixner (52)
20 Lars Monsen (61)
21 Martin Buser (28)
22 Michelle Phillips (18)
23 Rick Casillo (9)
24 Michi Konno (63)R
25 Ryan Redington (7)
26 Cody Strathe (2)
27 Anna Berington (4)
28 Larry Daugherty (14)
29 Jessie Holmes (41)R
30 Tom Knolmayer (43)
31 Katherine Keith (51)
At Grayling
32 Michael Williams Jr. (27)
33 Jeff King (40)
34 Charley Bejna (38)
Beyond Anvik
35 Bradley Farquhar (65)R
36 Jim Lanier (32)
At Anvik
37 Noah Pereira (49)
Beyond Shageluk
38 Emily Maxwell (58)R
39 Aaron Peck (50)
40 Andy Pohl (12)R
41 Kristy Berington (20)
At Shageluk
42 Scott Janssen (23)
43 Dave Delcourt (57)
44 Allen Moore (26)
45 Monica Zappa (48)
46 Brett Bruggeman (37)R
47 Andrew Nolan (56)R
48 Jeff Deeter (45)
49 Alan Eischens (53)
50 Meredith Mapes (16)R
Beyond Iditarod
51 Shaynee Traska (5)R
52 Lev Shvarts (22)
53 Rob Cooke (10)
54 Peter Fleck (67)R
55 Misha Wiljes (19)
56 Jason Stewart (66)R
57 Magnus Kaltenborn (6)
58 Anja Radano (24)R
59 Tim Muto (42)R
60 Marcelle Fressineau (35)
At Iditarod
61 Tara Cicatello (44)R
62 Steve Watkins (59)
Beyond Ophir
63 Tom Schonberger (25)R

The Mushers in bold are former winners of the Iditarod, while italics indicates Yukon Quest winners. The numbers in parentheses are their Bib numbers. The small “R” indicates a total rookie, while the small “Q” indicates an Iditarod rookie who has completed a Yukon Quest.

These are the official standings. That means they are official, not that they are correct. Things jump around a lot as people decide to update the standings. This problem is especially bad in the back of the pack, as no one bothers to update those standings when the lead is changing.

This post will be updated during the day, and the map changed on all posts to reflect the current situation.

All posts on the Iditarod can be seen by selecting “Iditarod” from the Category box on the right sidebar or clicking on the Sled Dog graphic.


There are no comments yet...

Kick things off by filling out the form below.

Leave a Comment

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>