On-line Opinion Magazine…OK, it's a blog
Random header image... Refresh for more!

Iditarod 2018 – Day 10

Iditarod 2018 MapSled DogJoar has about about an hour lead over Nicolas. Both of them will be heading for Nome from White Mountain today

Joar’s lead is 3:01 leaving Elim, but he will probably need to rest on the trail to White Mountain.

Joar made it to White Mountain just before 11AM CDT and collected the new prize – $2500 and a Marianne Wieland print. He will head to Nome at about 7PM CDT.

Nicolas lost the trail and his lead between Koyuk and Elim and had to backtrack. There is blowing snow on the trail for that stretch.

Joar has a 3½ hour lead over Nicolas and 5 hours over Mitch. 5PM CDT marks 9 days since the start of racing.

Wade Marrs, Tom Schonberger, and Allen Moore all scratched today. It would appear, in the absence of official information beyond “best interests of the team”, that the mushers are experiencing health problems.

Standings at 9:15PM CDT:

Beyond White Mountain
1 Joar Leifseth Ulsom (33)
At White Mountain
2 Nicolas Petit (46)
3 Mitch Seavey (13)
4 Ray Redington Jr (17)
Beyond Elim
5 Peter Kaiser (30)
6 Richie Diehl (29)
7 Travis Beals (60)
8 Linwood Fiedler (8)
9 Ramey Smyth (21)
10 Jessie Holmes (41)R

11 Aaron Burmeister (64
12 Matt Hall (15)Q
At Elim
13 Matthew Failor (55)
14 Aliy Zirkle (31)
15 Jessie Royer (36)
Beyond Koyuk
16 Ketil Reitan (54)
17 Kelly Maixner (52)
18 Michelle Phillips (18)
19 Mats Pettersson (3)
20 Hugh Neff (68)
21 Lars Monsen (61)
Beyond Shaktoolik
22 Michi Konno (63)R
23 Katherine Keith (51)
24 Jeff King (40)
25 Anna Berington (4)
26 Michael Williams Jr. (27)
27 Martin Buser (28)
28 Larry Daugherty (14)
29 Rick Casillo (9)
30 Cody Strathe (2)
At Shaktoolikt
31 Tom Knolmayer (43)
32 Charley Bejna (38)
33 Noah Pereira (49)
34 Jim Lanier (32)
35 Emily Maxwell (58)R
Beyond Unalakleet
36 Andrew Nolan (56)R
37 Aaron Peck (50)
38 Kristy Berington (20)
39 Andy Pohl (12)R
40 Monica Zappa (48)
41 Brett Bruggeman (37)R
At Unalakleet
42 Scott Janssen (23)
43 Lev Shvarts (22)
44 Alan Eischens (53)
45 Bradley Farquhar (65)R
46 Jeff Deeter (45)
Beyond Kaltag
47 Peter Fleck (67)R
48 Shaynee Traska (5)R
49 Dave Delcourt (57)
50 Misha Wiljes (19)
51 Tim Muto (42)R
52 Anja Radano (24)R
53 Rob Cooke (10)
54 Meredith Mapes (16)R
At Kaltag
55 Magnus Kaltenborn (6)
56 Jason Stewart (66)R
57 Marcelle Fressineau (35)
Beyond Grayling
58 Tara Cicatello (44)R
59 Steve Watkins (59)

The Mushers in bold are former winners of the Iditarod, while italics indicates Yukon Quest winners. The numbers in parentheses are their Bib numbers. The small “R” indicates a total rookie, while the small “Q” indicates an Iditarod rookie who has completed a Yukon Quest.

These are the official standings. That means they are official, not that they are correct. Things jump around a lot as people decide to update the standings. This problem is especially bad in the back of the pack, as no one bothers to update those standings when the lead is changing.

This post will be updated during the day, and the map changed on all posts to reflect the current situation.

All posts on the Iditarod can be seen by selecting “Iditarod” from the Category box on the right sidebar or clicking on the Sled Dog graphic.