On-line Opinion Magazine…OK, it's a blog
Random header image... Refresh for more!

Post-Tropical Cyclone Erin – Day 4

Post-Tropical Cyclone ErinPosition: 36.1N 71.6W [ 4:00AM CDT 0900 UTC].
Movement: North-Northeast [025°] near 15 mph [24 kph].
Maximum sustained winds: 35 mph [ 55 kph].
Wind Gusts: 50 mph [ 80 kph].
Minimum central pressure: 1005 mb.

Currently about 225 miles [ 365 km] East-Northeast of Cape Hatteras, North Carolina.

Erin has become a post-tropical cyclone. This is the final advisory from the NHC.

Here’s the link for NOAA’s latest satellite images.

[For the latest information click on the storm symbol, or go to the CATEGORIES drop-down box below the CALENDAR and select “Hurricanes” for all of the posts related to storms on this site.]

August 29, 2019   Comments Off on Post-Tropical Cyclone Erin – Day 4

Hurricane Dorian – Day 6

Hurricane DorianPosition: 23.3N 68.4W [10:00PM CDT 0300 UTC].
Movement: Northwest [325°] near 12 mph [19 kph].
Maximum sustained winds: 105 mph [165 kph].
Wind Gusts: 120 mph [195 kph].
Tropical Storm Wind Radius: 105 miles [165 km].
Hurricane Wind Radius: 25 miles [ 35 km].
Minimum central pressure: 977 mb ↓.

Currently about 295 miles [ 470 km] East-Northeast of the Southeastern Bahamas.

Here’s the link for NOAA’s latest satellite images.

[For the latest information click on the storm symbol, or go to the CATEGORIES drop-down box below the CALENDAR and select “Hurricanes” for all of the posts related to storms on this site.]

August 29, 2019   2 Comments

Katrina

Scout First Draft graphic

It wasn’t the storm, it was the levees.

It wasn’t Nature, it was man.

August 29, 2019   Comments Off on Katrina