On-line Opinion Magazine…OK, it's a blog
Random header image... Refresh for more!

Iditarod 2023 – Day 1

Iditarod 2023 MapSled DogThe actual racing starts today at 5PM CST/2PM AKST as the teams leave the starting line at Willow every 2 minutes for little over an hour. The average team will have 14 puppies and the musher.

Standings at 9:45PM CST (6:45PM AKST):
Beyond Yentna
1 Ryan Redington (5)
2 Brent Sass (14)
3 Dan Kaduce (11)
4 Bailey Vitello (3)R
5 Jessie Holmes (2)
6 Hunter Keefe (12)R
7 Mille Porsild (4)
Beyond Willow
8 Kristy Berington (6)
9 Matt Hall (7)
10 Anna Berington (8)
11 Nicolas Petit (9)
12 KattiJo Deeter (10)R
13 Jennifer LaBar (13)R
14 Richie Diehl (15)
15 Matthew Failor (16)
16 Eric Kelly (17)
17 Eddie Burke Jr (18)R
18 Bridgett Watkins (19)R
19 Jason Mackey (20)
20 Riley Dyche (21)
[continued below the fold]
21 Gerhardt Thiart (22)R
22 Kelly Maixner (23)
23 Ramey Smyth (24)
24 Joanna Jagow (25)
25 Jessie Royer (26)
26 Jed Stephensen (27)R
27 Wade Marrs (28)
28 Gregg Vitello (29)R
29 Christian Turner (30)
30 Aaron Peck (31)
31 Michael Williams Jr (32)
32 Peter Kaiser (33)
33 Deke Naaktgeboren (34)
The Mushers in bold are former winners of the Iditarod, while italics indicates Yukon Quest winners. The numbers in parentheses are their Bib numbers. The small “R” indicates a total rookie, while the small “Q” indicates an Iditarod rookie who has completed a Yukon Quest.

These are the official standings. That means they are official, not that they are correct. Things jump around a lot as people decide to update the standings. This problem is especially bad in the back of the pack, as no one bothers to update those standings when the lead is changing.

This post will be updated during the day, and the map changed on all posts to reflect the current situation.

All posts on the Iditarod can be seen by selecting “Iditarod” from the Category box on the right sidebar or clicking on the Sled Dog graphic.


There are no comments yet...

Kick things off by filling out the form below.

Leave a Comment

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>