Warning: Constant ABSPATH already defined in /home/public/wp-config.php on line 27
Iditarod 2023 – Day 8 — Why Now?
On-line Opinion Magazine…OK, it's a blog
Random header image... Refresh for more!

Iditarod 2023 – Day 8

Iditarod 2023 MapSled Dog[[!!Don’t forget the time change!!]]

Ryan Redington wins the Ryan Air Gold Coast Award as the first musher to reach the Unalakleet checkpoint.

Standings at 8:00PM CDT (5:00PM AKDT):
Beyond Shaktoolik
1 Ryan Redington (5)
At Shaktoolik
2 Peter Kaiser (33)
3 Richie Diehl (15)
Beyond Unalakleet
4 Matt Hall (7)
5 Kelly Maixner (23)
6 Eddie Burke Jr (18)R
7 Hunter Keefe (12)R
8 Mille Porsild (4)
At Unalakleet
9 Jessie Holmes (2)
10 Matthew Failor (16)
11 Wade Marrs (28)
Beyond Kaltag
12 Dan Kaduce (11)
13 Christian Turner (30)
14 Nicolas Petit (9)
15 Aaron Peck (31)
16 KattiJo Deeter (10)R
17 Riley Dyche (21)
18 Jessie Royer (26)
[continued below the fold]
At Kaltag
19 Deke Naaktgeboren (34)
20 Ramey Smyth (24)
21 Michael Williams Jr (32)
Beyond Eagle Island
22 Kristy Berington (6)
23 Anna Berington (8)
24 Gerhardt Thiart (22)R
25 Bridgett Watkins (19)R
26 Joanna Jagow (25)
27 Bailey Vitello (3)R
28 Jason Mackey (20)
At Eagle Island
29 Eric Kelly (17)
30 Jed Stephensen (27)R

The Mushers in bold are former winners of the Iditarod, while italics indicates Yukon Quest winners. The numbers in parentheses are their Bib numbers. The small “R” indicates a total rookie, while the small “Q” indicates an Iditarod rookie who has completed a Yukon Quest.

These are the official standings. That means they are official, not that they are correct. Things jump around a lot as people decide to update the standings. This problem is especially bad in the back of the pack, as no one bothers to update those standings when the lead is changing.

This post will be updated during the day, and the map changed on all posts to reflect the current situation.

All posts on the Iditarod can be seen by selecting “Iditarod” from the Category box on the right sidebar or clicking on the Sled Dog graphic.