On-line Opinion Magazine…OK, it's a blog
Random header image... Refresh for more!

Income & Taxes

Corporate Tax Rate
Rate Taxable Income
15% $0-50,000
25% 50,001-75,000
34% 75,001-100,000
39% 100,001-335,000
34% 335,001-10,000,000
35% 10,000,001-15,000,000
38% 15,000,001-18,333,333
35% Over 18,333,333

Personal service corporations pay a flat 35%
[Yes, the table is correct and things are that screwed up.]

Single Tax Rate
Rate Taxable Income
10% $0 – 7,825
15% 7,826 – 31,850
25% 31,851 – 77,100
28% 77,101 – 160,850
33% 160,851 – 349,700
35% Over $349,700

The Standard Deduction is $5,350 and the Personal Exemption is $3,400, so the first $8,750 isn’t actually subject to any income tax.

[Read more →]

October 9, 2008   8 Comments

Hurricane Norbert – Cat 1 – Day 2

Hurricane NorbertPosition: 18.9 N 113.2 W [10 PM CDT 0300 UTC].
Movement: North-Northwest [330°] near 7 mph.
Maximum sustained winds: 90 mph [150 kph].
Wind Gusts: 115 mph.
Tropical Storm Wind Radius: 140 miles [220 km].
Hurricane Wind Radius: 35 miles [55 km].
Minimum central pressure: 973 mb ↑.

It is 350 miles [560 km] Southwest of the tip of Baja California.

At 8 PM PDT…0300 UTC…the government of Mexico has issued a Hurricane Watch for the West Coast of Baja California from Puerto San Andresito southward and for the East Coast of Baja California from lareto southward including Cabo San Lucas. A Hurricane Watch means that hurricane conditions are possible within the watch area…generally within 36 hours.

[Read more →]

October 9, 2008   4 Comments