On-line Opinion Magazine…OK, it's a blog
Random header image... Refresh for more!

Tropical Storm Songda

Tropical Storm SongdaPosition: 10.9N 133.9E [ 6PM CST 0000 UTC 9AM JST].
Movement: West-Northwest [290°] near 10 mph [17 kph].
Maximum sustained winds: 70 mph [110 kph].
Wind Gusts: 85 mph [140 kph].
Tropical Storm Wind Radius: 105 miles [170 km].

Currently about 230 miles [ 370 km] North of Palau.

This is the first named storm of the Western Pacific season and it looks like it is going to spin into a major typhoon before its over. Current forecasts have it paralleling the Philippines and heading towards Taiwan, and then turning North towards Japan.

The tracking and forecast information is coming primarily from the US Navy center on Hawaii.