On-line Opinion Magazine…OK, it's a blog
Random header image... Refresh for more!

Some Nice News

Via Melanie at Just a Bump in the Beltway: Keith Olbermann will receive the first Molly Ivins Award from the Association of Alternative Newsweeklies [AAN] today.

AAN officials stated in a release that Olbermann’s show “is notable for its literate writing, fast-paced delivery, historical and pop-culture references and the host’s signature wit, all of which make ‘Countdown’ one of the most vital and colorful newscasts on the air.”

AAN plans to donate $2,000 in Olbermann’s name to the Molly Ivins Fund for Investigative Reporting at the Texas Observer, stating “Ivins remained a passionate supporter of the non-profit bi-weekly newsmagazine until her passing.”

It’s nice that there is an award named for Miss Molly, and that Keith Olbermann received it. It’s even nicer that the award includes a donation for her fund. The question is, who else is worthy?


1 fallenmonk { 05.10.07 at 8:40 am }

That is good news and no one deserves to have a prize named after more than Molly Ivins. The world is a lesser place without her.

2 Bryan { 05.10.07 at 12:38 pm }

Miss Molly was one of the three great ladies of Texas, and she deserves to be remembered.

It’s always nice that people recognize premeditated journalism when it’s committed with a little style and indignation.

3 hipparchia { 05.10.07 at 6:02 pm }

i miss molly. something fierce.

4 Bryan { 05.10.07 at 7:19 pm }

She was a oner, a winner, and a wonder.